TurboManage

David Chandler's Journal of Java Web and Mobile Development

  • David M. Chandler


    Web app developer since 1994 and former Developer Advocate with Google now residing in Colorado. Besides tech, I enjoy landscape photography and share my work at ColoradoPhoto.gallery.

  • Subscribe

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 240 other followers

  • Sleepless Nights…

    August 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Oct »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Blog Stats

    • 869,098 hits

App Engine code download saves the day

Posted by David Chandler on August 26, 2011

While I was working on the sample project for yesterday’s post, I accidentally deleted the src and target folders in my project. I’m not entirely sure how this happened, but my source files were neither in the Trash folder nor Eclipse local history (except for the Maven POM, which I had just been working on). I was just getting ready to check into SVN but hadn’t done it yet, so it was beginning to look like a total loss.

Fortunately, I had just deployed my project to App Engine, which now allows you to download your deployed application. Java sources don’t get deployed so I had only WEB-INF/classes to work with, but a quick trip through JAD recovered the sources also (albeit sans comments–sorry about that, folks). I like this new GAE feature. In the future, I’ll at least create a local git repo before I start mucking with the Eclipse Run configs…

One Response to “App Engine code download saves the day”

  1. awesome!, thanks

Leave a Reply

 
