TurboManage

David Chandler's Journal of Java Web and Mobile Development

  • David M. Chandler


    Web app developer since 1994 and former Developer Advocate with Google now residing in Colorado. Besides tech, I enjoy landscape photography and share my work at ColoradoPhoto.gallery.

  • Subscribe

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 242 other followers

  • Sleepless Nights…

    December 2008
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Mar »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Blog Stats

    • 849,257 hits

Ubuntu USB Wireless

Posted by David Chandler on December 15, 2008

Reason why I love the open source community #157:

Please leave really detailed comments on wiki pages like this one about which hardware actually works with your OS. See the comment for the FD7050, v4001.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HardwareSupportComponentsWirelessNetworkCardsBelkin#USB

After reading this page and related pages for other vendors, I stopped my local Target, and was pleasantly surprised to find the Belkin myEssentials line of components, but not the myEssentials USB wireless adapter which so many folks have said works fine with Ubuntu and is very cheap ($15-$25). But not to worry, the Belkin referenced above was on the shelf for $35, and it featured a barcode sticker with “ver. 4001” on it. Bingo!

I plugged it in to my Ubuntu 7  machine, waited a few seconds, clicked the network manager on the launcher bar, and it had already found my network. I entered my password for WPA2-PSK (AES), held my breath, and voila, I can now move the Ubuntu machine to the basement for the kids 🙂

/dmc

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
